Suspended Drivers License in California
Many traffic violations end up in suspension of your California driver's license. Drunk driving, refusing to submit a blood alcohol test for DUI offense, having an outstanding California warrant like FTA, speeding ticket, reckless driving, leaving the scene of accident, not having car insurance, having too many points on your license, failure to pay your fines, failure to file an accident report, fleeing an officer and failure to appear in court are some of the actions that can end in a suspended drivers license in California. There are other reasons for a suspended driver's license that are not even related to driving, such as vandalism, failure to pay child support and possession of drugs.
Once your California driver's license is suspended, you get a temporary license for 30 days. You have the first ten days after the suspension to request a DMV hearing regarding your case. After the first month, the suspension starts.
If you drive on a suspended driver's license, you are committing another misdemeanor. You will be arrested, handcuffed and sent to jail if proven that you were driving with a suspended license. You would need bail to get out and you have to pay heavy fines, even up to $1000. If the violation happens for the second time, you not only have to go through the previous process and pay the fines, but your vehicle will be impounded for 30 days and then sold. You have to pay the fees for towing and storage and you may be jailed for sometime as well.
Suspension of driver's license in California will last for six months and the driver is put on probation for one year. These punishments can get extended to respectively another six months and one more year if any violation occurs during the probation or the driver is involved in any car accident, regardless of who is at fault.
You can request a California DMV hearing. This hearing is not about whether you are guilty of the crime or not, it is about your driving privileges and the situation causing the suspension of the driver's license. You have the right to have an attorney representing you if you've been accused of driving with suspended license. You may be able to get your license back, sometimes a restricted driver's license will be issued for you. To get help from a traffic attorney about suspension of your driver's licence call (866) 780-1234 or simply fill the online form.
Suspended Drivers License for Commercial Drivers
Many of the traffic violations that are just citations for non-commercial drivers have more consequences for commercial drivers in California. Some of them are even considered misdemeanors and the CDL holder will receive more points on their license for those traffic violations. As commercial drivers cannot attend traffic school, these points quickly accumulate and add up to the limit. This will result in the suspension of their license. DWI offense will automatically suspend a CDL. By requesting a DMV hearing, the driver might be able to drive until the court reaches a decision.
Web Development by Avital Web, SEO Firm